Dr. Cruel

Director: Teco Benson and Jakob Boeskov
Country: Nigeria and USA
Year: 2010
Running Time: 9 min
Language:  English

This tongue-in-cheek, Scandinavian-Nigerian-American co-production follows the interrogation of a white oil executive in a hideout somewhere in Nigeria. This action-art video borrows from all three cinematic cultures, as well as from the aesthetics of fundamentalist propaganda videos.

About the Director

Teco Benson and Jakob S. Boeskov

tecobensonBiography: Teco Benson has maintained a very strong track record in the movie industry since 1997 when his directing career began. Originally a civil servant, Benson came into the movie industry in 1994 as an actor and then went into script writing and film production in 1995, and now focuses on directing. Part of the federal government delegation via the Nigerian Film Corporation, he represented Nollywood in Ghana in 2005, as well as being a part of the five-men delegation that represented Nigeria at the 32nd Cairo International Film Festival. In 2006, his movie Explosion was chosen to represent Nollywood in Israel. His 35mm film, Mission to Nowhere, introduced Nollywood to international screens.


Biography: Jakob S. Boeskov is a Danish-Icelandic artist and filmmaker. He was born in Elsinore, Denmark in 1973. Since his debut in the middle of the 1990s with his comic strip Flax Letter, Boeskov has exhibited at many venues both at home and abroad, including the Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam, the Ileana Tounta Gallery in Athens, Frankfurter Kunstverein, ZKM in Karlsruhe, and The Thing in New York. He is best known for infiltrating a Chinese weapons fair in his ID Sniper project. Boeskov’s work includes drawings, paintings, video and film. His work has been described as humorous, poetic and political.

(Sources: – http://mubi.com/cast_members/214157http://en.goldenmap.com/Jakob_Boeskovhttp://www.smk.dk/en/about-smk/press/press-releases/artikel/new-exhibition-jakob-s-boeskov-at-statens-museum-for-kunst/)

Films Shown in AFF, Inc. Programs:
Dr. Cruel (2010, 2011).

Dirty Game (1998 – Teco Benson);
End of the Wicked (1999 – Teco Benson);
Broad Day Light (2001 – Teco Benson);
Formidable Force (2002 – Teco Benson);
Born 2 Suffer (2002 – Teco Benson);
Highway to the Grave (2002 – Teco Benson);
Power to Bind (2003 – Teco Benson);
Accidental Discharge (2003 – Teco Benson);
Danes for Bush (2004 – Jakob S. Boeskov);
War Front (2004 – Teco Benson);
War Front 2 (2004 – Teco Benson);
State of Emergency (2004 – Teco Benson);
State of Emergency 2 (2004 – Teco Benson);
Danger Signal (2004 – Teco Benson);
Danger Signal 2 (2004 – Teco Benson);
Blood Diamonds (2004 – Teco Benson);
Six Demons (2005 – Teco Benson);
Day of Atonement (2005 – Teco Benson);
Silence of the Gods (2006 – Teco Benson);
Silence of the Gods 2 (2006 – Teco Benson);
Explosion: Now or Never (2006 – Teco Benson);
Explosion 2: Now or Never (2006 – Teco Benson);
Explosion 3: Now or Never (2006 – Teco Benson);
Mission to Nowhere (2008 – Teco Benson);
Mission to Nowhere 2 (2008 – Teco Benson);
Empire North (2010 – Jakob S. Boeskov);
The Fake Prophet (2010 – Teco Benson);
High Blood Pressure (2010 – Teco Benson);
Dr. Cruel (2010).