And So Angels Die / Ainsi meurent les Anges

Director: Moussa Sene Absa
Country: Senegal
Year: 2000
Running Time: 60 min.
Language: English

Mory has been living in France for several years. He has many friends and gets married to a European with whom he has three children. Yet in his Senegalese village, his fiancÈe, Coumba, is still waiting for him to return, and his relatives lose patience. After much hesitation, Mory returns home, but how will he tell them of his deception?

About the Director

Moussa Sène Absa

Moussasene_absaBiography: Moussa Sène Absa was born in 1958 in Senegal. After starting a career as an actor, he has won awards for his short films, documentaries, and features. He is also a painter and author. He exemplifies the “homo senegalensis”, an ideal of an artist, which was dear to Léopold Sédar Senghor, rooted in tradition but fully willing to use what the Western world has to offer. Ironically, Absa is more famous internationally than he is in his own country despite exposure to a large audience in Senegal through the TV series Goorgoorlu, written by TT Fons and produced by the national Senegalese television (RTS).

His first film Le Prix du mensonge (The Price of Lies) earned him the Tanit d’Argent (Silver Tanit) at the Journées cinématographiques de Carthage (Carthage Film Festival) in 1988.

Tableau Ferraille, released in 1996, earned him several awards including Best Cinematography at FESPACO in 1997.

(Source: Through African Eyes – Dialogues with the Directors, BONETTI Mahen and REDDY Prerana (Editors), 2003, African Film Festival, Inc. and Printinfo JV LLC, Yerevan, Armenia, p.84)

Films Shown in AFF, Inc. Programs:
Tableau Ferraille [Scrap Heap] (1998);
Ainsi meurent les anges [And So Angels Die] (2002);
L’Extraordinaire Destin de Madame Brouette [Ms. Wheelbarrow] (2005);
Teranga Blues (2007);
Yoole [The Sacrifice] (2012).

Le Prix du mensonge (1988);
Ken Bugul (1990);
Set Setal (1991);
Jaaraama (1991);
Entre nos mains (1991);
Molaan (1992);
Offrande à Mame Njare (1993);
Yalla yaana (1994);
Twist à Popenguine [Ça twiste à Poponguine] (1994);
Tableau Ferraille [Scrap Heap] (1997);
Jëf Jël (1998);
Blues pour une diva (1999);
Ainsi meurent les anges [And So Angels Die] (2001);
Goorgoorlu (2001);
L’Extraordinaire destin de Madame Brouette [Ms. Wheelbarrow] (2002);
The Adventures of Aziz the Reporter (2002);
Bari-baiire (2003);
Ngoyaan, le chant de la séduction (2004);
Teranga Blues (2007);
Yoole [The Sacrifice] (2011).