Toubab Bi

Director: Moussa Touré
Countries: Senegal / France
Year: 1991
Running Time: 100 min.
Language: French

Toubab Bi

In Toubab Bi, Soriba Samb leaves Senegal for the first time to travel to Paris where he discovers not only a new world, but also an old friend who has lost his soul there. The little knowledge Soriba Samb has of France and its people does not prepare him for life in a transient hotel, amid the cold idiosyncrasies of a foreign land. Candidly autobiographical, Toubab Bi combines humor, charm and acute observation in its powerful vision of African identity in a European melting pot.

About the Director

Moussa Touré

moussa-touré-la-pirogue-tanit-dor-jcc-carthage-tunisieBiography: Moussa Touré was born in 1958 in Dakar, Senegal. He entered the film industry as an electrician, then became assistant director and finally directed his own short, Baram, in 1987. His first feature, Toubab Bi, made in 1991, was honored with awards at numerous film festivals. In 1997 he directs TGV which is the real popular success in Africa and wins the Special Jury Prize at the Namur Festival and the Audience Award at the 1998 Mannheim Festival. An actor, a technician and a director at the same time, Moussa Touré played in, and directed many films, taking all genres together. He is heading his own production company, Les Films du crocodile in Dakar. The Senegalese filmmaker has also initiated the Moussa Invite festival in Rufisque in Dakar, which promotes African documentaries directed by Africans. Moussa Touré was the President of the Documentary Film Jury at FESPACO 2011.


Films Shown in AFF, Inc. Programs:
Toubab Bi (1993);
TGV (2000, 2013, 2016)

Histoire oubliée, soldats noirs (1985 – Eric Deroo, Moussa Touré);
Baram (1987);
Toubab Bi (1991);
Les Tirailleurs sénégalais (1992);
TGV (1997);
Nous sommes nombreuses [Toza é bélé] (2003);
Poussières de ville (2004);
5×5 (2005);
Nanga def (2005);
Nawaari (2005);
Nosaltres (2006);
Les Techniciens, nos cousins (2009);
Xali Beut les yeux grand ouverts (2009);
The Pirogue (2012).