Mortu Nega (Those Whom Death Refused)

Director: Flora Gomes
Country: Guinea Bissau
Year: 1988
Running Time: 93 min
Language: Criolo with English subtitles


Mortu Nega covers the period from January 1973 during the closing months of the war against the Portuguese until the consolidation of an independent Guinea-Bissau in 1974 and 1975. The film begins in the bush with a convoy on the supply road from Conakry to the front. The heroine, Diminga, who emerges from there and the story of her unflagging loyalty to her husband, Sako, a wounded guerilla commander, carries the sense of solidarity developed among the freedom fighters.

About the Director

Flora Gomes

Flora-GomesBiography: Flora Gomes, born Florentino Gomes, was born in Cadique, Guinea-Bissau in 1949. He studied cinema in Cuba before receiving instruction from Paulin Soumanou Vieyra on newsreel production in Senegal and working as a journalist. His career took off with Mortu Nega (Those Whom Death Refused) in 1988, which was awarded many international prizes and had commercial success. This was followed in 1992 by Udju Azul di Yonta (The Blue Eyes of Yonta), which was elected for Un certain regard at Cannes. In 1996 he presented his film Po di Sangui (Tree of Blood) for competition at the Cannes Film Festival. Many critics consider the award-winning film to be his best. His feature film My Voice (Nha fala) (2002) has also won him several local and international awards.

(Source: Through African Eyes – Dialogues with the Directors, BONETTI Mahen and REDDY Prerana (Editors), 2003, African Film Festival, Inc. and Printinfo JV LLC, Yerevan, Armenia, p.44)

Films Shown in AFF, Inc. Programs:
Mortu Nega [Those Whom Death Refused] (1999);
Udju Azul di Yonta [The Blue Eyes of Yonta] (1993, 1999);
Po di Sangui [Tree of Blood] (1998, 1999).

O Regresso de Cabral (1976);
Mortu Nega [Those Whom Death Refused] (1988);
Udju Azul di Yonta [The Blue Eyes of Yonta] (1992);
A Mascara (1995);
Po di Sangui [Tree of Blood] (1996);
My Voice [Nha fala] (2002);
As Duas Faces da Guerra (2007);
L’Afrique vue par… [Africa Seen by…] – A pegadas de todos os tempos (2009);
La République des enfants (2010).

Display Preference

Your selection

Price: $24.95

Special Orders